PDA

View Full Version : Urgent Help Please

ramasama
05-02-2010, 11:51 AM
Hi people, Stasticians :)

I'm new and a mom. I have been asked to help out with an assignment due tomorrow :O - she has been away overseas for familial obligations and it's been many many moons since I studied Stats myself.

Please help, I really just want to know HOW to work out these problems, I would greatly appreciate it. Thank you so much :)

8 traffic lights on way to work
Traffic lights work independent of each other, probability of stopping at any one set is 0.4
If I stop at more than 6 I am late for work.

What is my prob of being late? Please help

My friend arrives for tea in the mornings, usually at a mean of 09:30 and std deviation of 18 minutes.

On any particular day, what is the probability she will arrive between 0900hrs and 1000hrs?

If she arrives later, she is late. She s late 20% of the time.

What is the latest time she can arrive without being late?

Oranges are considered underweight if under 30grams. Their weight are independent and normally distributed at a mean of 32grams and std deviation of 2grams.

I buy two. What is the chance they are both underweight?

PLEASE YOUR HELP WOULD BE GREATLY APPRECIATED. I just want to learn how to work them, I'm reading all I can but it's cumbrous and further impeded by outside factors. Please help, thank you :)

statsguy
05-03-2010, 12:14 AM
Hi people, Stasticians :)

I'm new and a mom. I have been asked to help out with an assignment due tomorrow :O - she has been away overseas for familial obligations and it's been many many moons since I studied Stats myself.

Please help, I really just want to know HOW to work out these problems, I would greatly appreciate it. Thank you so much :)

8 traffic lights on way to work
Traffic lights work independent of each other, probability of stopping at any one set is 0.4
If I stop at more than 6 I am late for work.

What is my prob of being late? Please help