PDA

View Full Version : Import of Excel file into Stata!

Maastricht2006
04-02-2011, 09:25 AM
Hello everyone,

I am a beginner with stata. I tried to import an excel file with ODBC data source.
I already shortened the variable names without empty spaces and less than 32 characters. I only used 4 variables. Data Type is str244.

I insert the data and get no error message. However, if I go on summarize to show number of observations, mean etc. Stata does not show any results

Does somebody know this problem and can tell me what I am doing wrong?
That would be very nice!

zerostin
04-02-2011, 11:19 AM
Can you maybe upload some sample data?

Maastricht2006
04-02-2011, 01:55 PM
yes no problem, here is the excel file

zerostin
04-02-2011, 02:23 PM
If I try to use your data I don't get any observations. If I recreate a part of your data, then I don't have any problems.

+------------------------------------------------------+
| cusip year compan~e state Gindex classi~d |
|------------------------------------------------------|
1. | 00751Y 2002 test_1 de 8 0 |
2. | 00751Y 2004 test_2 de 9 0 |
3. | 00751Y 2006 test_3 de 8 0 |
+------------------------------------------------------+

So, I guess the problem is the excel file, but I don't know what is causing that problem. Perhaps somebody has a better solution, otherwise you maybe need to recreate your excel file.

bukharin
04-03-2011, 08:18 AM
It's a pretty strange Excel file; eg what happened to rows 21-34? I can't seem to unhide them (then again I'm pretty useless in Excel...)

I copied and pasted the data from Excel to Stata which seemed to work okay, but only copied over the observations that weren't hidden. I suspect if you "unhid" the other observations you could simply copy and paste.

Otherwise I would recommend finding someone with a copy of Stat/Transfer which makes this type of conversion very easy.

Maastricht2006
04-03-2011, 08:44 AM