+ Reply to Thread

Thread: How to check if results statistically significant?

Level completed: 50%, Points required for next Level: 100

Thanks

How to check if results statistically significant?

Hi all,

I am a novice when it comes to statistics and would really appreciate some advice!

I created a teaching video for students on a particular surgical procedure. In order to determine if it is an effective learning aid, I asked the students to watch the video and complete a test pre and post video. The aim was to see if watching the educational video brings about an improvement in their test score (and therefore knowledge of the topic).

In total 29 students participated in the study and almost all students improved their score. I have calculated the mean scores pre and post video and the results show that on average the percentage improvement in score was roughly about 30%. I want to work out if the improvement in score after watching the video is statistically significant (i.e. unlikely to be due to chance). If i'm not mistaken I would need to calculate the p value to do this? Which statistical test would be most appropriate in this case to calculate the p value (note: I dont have a "control" group as such)?

Also, I would like to compare the percentage improvement in score between various subgroups (i.e. male vs. female, those who had seen the operation before vs. those that had not) and see if the differences between the groups are statistically significant.

The data is available here https://www.yousendit.com/download/O...UzgzMW52Wmc9PQ

I would really appreciate your help guys.

Thanks.

Level completed: 3%, Points required for next Level: 146

Thanks
    This is a repeated measures
    a "within" subjects test ...

BUT ... note ... as you yourself do ....