+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Probability on a Multiple Choice exam

Level completed: 29%, Points required for next Level: 71

Thanks

Probability on a Multiple Choice exam

Hello, I am not very good at this type of stuff. I thought up something and I was wondering if someone can look over it and tell me if my justifications are correct or not. I am not very familiar with how things are written out when referring to probability.

If there is something wrong with my justifications try to put it in a way that makes sense to me.

If these conclusions are correct, please put it in a standard way that it would be written.

Given:

You are taking a multiple-choice test. There are 3 incorrect answers in each problem and 1 correct answer.

Before you read each question you randomly guess.

Lets say your random guess turns out to be A

therefore:

25% chance the correct answer is among -> A
    75% chance the correct answer is among -> B C D

In other words, there is a 25% chance you chose correctly. There is also a 75% chance you chose incorrectly and the answer is either B,C, or D. It is more likely you chose incorrectly.

Now we can take this information and apply it to different scenarios:

(I left out scenarios that would have identical percentages in the end.)

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Scenario 1

You know for sure B and C are wrong after reading the question. So now A or D could be the correct answer, but you are unsure which.

25% chance the answer is among -> A
    75% chance the answer is among -> B C D

Conclusion:

75% chance the answer is among -> D

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Scenario 2

You know for sure B is wrong after reading the question. So now A, C, or D could be the correct answer, but you are unsure which.

therefore:

75% chance the answer is among -> C D

Conclusion:

37.5% chance the answer is among -> C