+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Help with Probability!

Level completed: 20%, Points required for next Level: 80

Thanks

Help with Probability!

Hi. I came across a few questions tht i came across while studyin for a probability chapter. Just a little request, im very new to probability so u could explain the steps if u get the answer, i've mentioned the correct answers 2. Here they go.

1)The probability that a person owns a microwave is 0.75, that a person owns a compact disk player is 0.25. and that a person owns both a microwave and a CD player is 0.16. Find the probability that a person owns either a a microwave or a CD player , but not both.

I did 0.75+0.25-0.16=0.84 BUT the answer is 0.68.

2)A physics test contains 25 true/false questions. How many different possible answer keys can be made?

I can't seem to even get started on this 1. The answer is 335,554,432

3)License plates are to be issued with 3 letters followed by 4 single digits.
    a)How many such license plates are possibble? b)If the plates are issued at random, what is the probability that the license place says USA followed by a number that is divisible by 5?

The question doesn't mention if the letters/ digits can be repeated which is whts confusing me. And since it says 4 single digits, they should all be less than 10 right? The right answer is a)175,760,000 b)0.0000114

4)A vaccine has a 90% probability of being effective in preventing a certain disease. The probability of getting a disease if a person is not vaccinated is 50%. In a certain geographic region, 25% of the people get vaccinated. If a peron is selected at random, find the probabilty that he/she will contract the disease.

10% is the chance of the vaccine being not effective.
    50% chance of getting disease if not vaccinated.
    75% in that region are not vaccinated.

75% have a 50% chance of getting it and the 25% have a 10% chance of getting it. So I do 75/50 + 25/10 = 4, but the answer is 0.4.