+ Reply to Thread

Thread: long story involving the GRE and MS-Stat program

Level completed: 75%, Points required for next Level: 25

Thanks

long story involving the GRE and MS-Stat program

OK, here's my story, followed by my question. I am an assistant professor in a health-related discipline at a land-grant research university in the U.S. For a number of reasons, I've decided to apply as a part-time student to a Master of Statistics program at the institution where I work (yay for free tuition). I have always loved statistics, but felt limited by my mathematical abilities. I always thought I was "bad at math", but have recently come to believe this was a situation of my own creation. So, to remedy this, I have completely restarted my collegiate math curriculum in my spare time. So far, I have taken Calc I-II-II, linear algebra, and probability, with A's in all, except for a B in Calc III (got too busy at work). Starting this week, I will be taking (undergrad) courses in statistical inference and number theory. I have also just finished teaching an introductory-level statistics course to my own department's students, and I think I pulled it off rather well.