+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Comparing standard deviations of different means

Level completed: 77%, Points required for next Level: 35

Thanks

Comparing standard deviations of different means

Hey y'all, I'm a total rookie when it comes to statistics, so please forgive my ignorance/laymen's terms.

I want to know when CONSISTENCY is more valuable than a higher mean for a range of numbers. For instance, if one range of sales figures from employee A is a lower average but has a lower standard deviation, and employee B has a range of sales figures with a higher average but also a higher deviation. Most week, employee A is better, but B can pull some big numbers to make up for it. Again, I want to know when steady production is more valuable than overall average production.

I can give you examples, but I don't know what numbers you'd need.

Thanks!

Level completed: 76%, Points required for next Level: 24

Thanks

Re: Comparing standard deviations of different means

Are you interested in a statistical comparison of the dispersion in two samples? If so, Bartlett's test would work (assuming your data are normally distributed): http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bartlett%27s_test. If you don't have normally distributed data, Levene's test will work. You can get SPSS to give you Bartlett's if you ask for it in the factor analysis procedure, and you can get Levene's test in SPSS by using the two-sample t-test. These tests will allow you to evaluate if one group of data is more consistent than another.

As far as which is more valuable... valuable in terms of what? If we are talking about like which salesperson makes more sales, a t-test takes the dispersion of the data into account when comparing the means, so it could be used to see which is more valuable in terms of sales.
    Last edited by marchhare; 05-20-2011 at 10:00 PM.

Level completed: 77%, Points required for next Level: 35

Thanks