+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: Statistics with R - absolute beginner

Level completed: 61%, Points required for next Level: 159

Thanks

Statistics with R - absolute beginner

Could any recommend where to start with learning R. Which websites/books/videos explain R in the simplest possible manner?

Super Moderator
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Thanks

Re: Statistics with R - absolute beginner

Certainly.

I would first recommend having a look at the home page an becoming familiar with it:

http://www.r-project.org/

You'll find links, pdfs on how to get started and links also to the R-Journal.

Also however is this thread on the TS forum. This is loaded with info for beginners and more advanced users:

http://www.talkstats.com/showthread....-Books-etc.%29
    The earth is round: P<0.05

Devorador de queso
    Awards:
    Posting AwardCommunity AwardDiscussion EnderFrequent Poster
    Thanks
    Thanked 2,629 Times in 2,245 Posts

Do you have previous programming experience? What other stats packages have you used before?

ggplot2orBust
    Awards:
    User with most referrers
    Thanks

I recommend you get a copy of The R Book and also Peter Daalagard's book of Introductory Stats with R as well as the R cookbook by Paul Teetor. In conjunction with the numerous manuals from Cran including Kickstarting R and an Introduction to R. Also the website Quick R was very helpful to me. Plus simple typing in help(object) and example(object) into the command line ie. example(hist) help(hist). Theres a ton to learn about this powerrful program. Just keep in mind the learning process is recursive. Read and reread until you understand. I've reread Daalgard and the R Book 2 and 3 times respectively and keep using them as a quick reference. Welcome to R.

Devorador de queso
    Awards:
    Thanks