+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Looping over all variables

Level completed: 65%, Points required for next Level: 107

Thanks

Looping over all variables

Hello,

I am using STATA for my analysis, but I am not a good programmer in STATA yet.

I am dealing with a multiple hypothesis testing problem.

I have a dataset of let's say n observations, and (p+1) variables, 1 dependent and p independent (n<<p). The dependent variable is nominal.

I would like to run in a loop (obviously not manually), a series of tests. If an independent variable is continuous, a t-test and if it's nominal, a chi-square test. From every test I need to keep the p-value (I need a variable containing p-values), so I can use the FDR method, using the STATA package smileplot which I already installed.

How do I do that ? I have no idea where to start.....if anyone ever did something like this and can help me with codes it will be more than appreciated....the alternative is to work with R....less friendly.

thanks

RoboStataRaptor
    Level completed: 21%, Points required for next Level: 317
    Thanks

Re: Looping over all variables

A t-test would be appropriate for a binary independent variable and continuous outcome, not the other way around. For a continuous predictor and binary categorical outcome I'd suggest logistic regression.

To help get you started, after logistic regression the p-value for the overall regression is returned as e(p). After -tabulate, chi2- it's returned as r(p). You can loop over variables using:
    Code: 
    foreach var of varlist a b c { // a, b & c are your continuous independent variables
        logistic outcomevar `var'
        do something with e(p)
    }

foreach var of varlist d e f { // d, e & f are your categorical independent variables
        tabulate outcomevar `var', chi2
        do something with r(p)
    }