+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Thread: Activity Budgets - testing for difference

Level completed: 89%, Points required for next Level: 11

Thanks

Activity Budgets - testing for difference

Hello All,

Firstly, I apologise for posting yet again, but after some advice from the wonderful Ecologist he has advised me to be more precise in my questioning and therefore I hope that I can shed some light on the problem at hand.

I studied piping plover nests and chicks at two beaches and calculated activity budgets into five groups for the chicks:
    Feeding, Human/Dog Disturbance, other disturbance (e.g. other wildlife), maintenance (e.g. resting and preening) and 'other'.

I calculated the mean proportions of activity for each brood each day observed as it was stated that individual chicks within a brood were non-independent. I also have proprtions of behaviour in each minor habitat used (e.g. Ocean front saturated zone, intertidal zone, wrack etc) and also mudflats. I also combined all behaviour for all habitats and then calculated proportions of the different habitats used for each behaviour.

The issue is that I have since realised by looking the n= in research papers that it seems that they considered each brood's behaviour as a whole as non-independent so I then found the mean for all of my observations for each brood. The issue is that now my dataset is now very small with only 3 broods at one beach and 4 broods at another beach.

One of the hypotheses is that activity budgets with differ between Ocean Front habitat and mudflat habitat, firstly due to disturbance being greater on the OF.
    I used a Mann-Whitney comparing the activity budgets between the OF broods at one beach compared to the other beach and the disturbance and 'other' were significantly different and therefore I am unable to combine the data for both beaches.

So one of my problems is that I have very small sets of data to use.