+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Binomial regression with x as the dependent variable and n as an independent variable

Level completed: 4%, Points required for next Level: 145

Thanks

Binomial regression with x as the dependent variable and n as an independent variable

Hi all

I have a sample size of 100. Out of 100 a certain number are successful at stage one. Of those successful at stage one some are successful at stage two. I want to regress the number successful at stage one and a number of other factors against the number successful at stage two. The challenge is that the number at stage two cannot be greater than the number at stage one.

Any ideas gratefully received.

Thanks

Level completed: 55%, Points required for next Level: 91
    Thanks

Re: Binomial regression with x as the dependent variable and n as an independent vari

I'm no expert but it sounds like you want to perform logistic regression with 'successful at stage 2' as your dependent variable.

You then have predictor variables, one of which is the binary variable 'successful at stage 1', plus your other predictor variables.

You'll then see if any of the predictor variables (including successful at stage 1) are significant predictors of successful at stage 2.

Given your small sample size, however, you can't really have too many predictors in the model. So a backwards or forwards regression strategy where the software throws out predictors or adds them in depending on their significance would probably work best.

Probably A Mammal
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Thanks

Re: Binomial regression with x as the dependent variable and n as an independent vari

I don't quite understand this constraint you want to impose. Are your data going to be like (1 for success; 0 not):

Code: 
    1st 2nd
    0   0
    1   0
    1   1
    0   0
    1   0
    1   1
    Or might you have

Code: 
    1st 2nd
    0   1
    1   0
    1   1
    0   0
    1   0