+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: Please help? Complete novice

Level completed: 26%, Points required for next Level: 37

Thanks

Please help? Complete novice

Please can someone help me with my analysis of data in my Masters dissertation?

I have conducted a quantitative self-questionnaire in my organisation, distributed to 12-branch managers & 18-sales managers using an identical questionnaire to gain an internal perception and external perception of competitive strategy. I now have 2 groups of data from the same questions with varying mean scores. How do i analyse the significance between groups? Is this data paired or independent? I'm a complete novice to stats and find the info on the NET very confusing.

Any help guys be greatly appreciated

Thanks Lee

Omega Contributor
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,186 Times in 1,147 Posts

Re: Please help? Complete novice

So you have mean scores for two groups (branch and sales managers). You will likely perform either a t-test (non-paired data) or a Wilcoxon Ranked Sums (nonparametric test). Read up about both and see which may be a better fit.

3. The Following User Says Thank You to hlsmith For This Useful Post:

Leehud74 (08-10-2012)

Thanks

Thank you for your help and speecy response, my main problem was understanding if my data is independent or not, considering my data is gathered from the same organisation. I will look at both you suggested thanks again,

Thanks

I have decided to use a two-tailed t-test and the result is a p value of 0.25 which i assume i can now state that the null hypothesis is accepted and not statistically signficant, does that sound right? Also can anyone advise if i break my questionnaire down by the 6 different sections i have in my findings should i calculate the p value for each section or leave it as an overall total value?

Pirate
    Level completed: 62%, Points required for next Level: 191
    Thanks