+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: how to calculate prevalance of obesity in spss using bmi values

Level completed: 44%, Points required for next Level: 28

Thanks

how to calculate prevalance of obesity in spss using bmi values

i am a newbie and i dont know how to calculate prevalance of obesity in spss using bmi values

Pirate
    Level completed: 62%, Points required for next Level: 154
    Thanks

Re: how to calculate prevalance of obesity in spss using bmi values

Please first define "prevalence of obesity".

Thanks

obesity is defined as bmi greater than 30 and ,prevalance of obesity means = those cases having bmi greater than 30 * 100 \ total number of cases .... my variable is bmi , and suppose i have 10 cases , out of which 2 are having bmi greater than 30 then my prevalance of obesity will be 20% or 20

Pirate
    Thanks

Ok, so you need to convert your variables to zeros and ones. Select a column in SPSS. Type your converted bmi values in the rows of that columns. For conversion, simply put 1 instead of bmi values greater than 30, and put 0 instead of the rest. Now in the SPSS toolbars, find and run "Analyze -> Descriptive Statistics -> Frequencies". Now select your column including the zero and one values, and hit OK. It will give you the prevalence of bmi > 30.

Thanks

Quote Originally Posted by victorxstc View Post
    Ok, so you need to convert your variables to zeros and ones. Select a column in SPSS. Type your converted bmi values in the rows of that columns. For conversion, simply put 1 instead of bmi values greater than 30, and put 0 instead of the rest. Now in the SPSS toolbars, find and run "Analyze -> Descriptive Statistics -> Frequencies". Now select your column including the zero and one values, and hit OK. It will give you the prevalence of bmi > 30.
    sory i didnt understand the conversion part , where do i put 1 instead of bmi values , in variable view or data view??

Pirate
    Thanks