+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Which kind of test is suitable for this type of question?

Level completed: 72%, Points required for next Level: 14

Thanks

Question Which kind of test is suitable for this type of question?

Hi,

I'm new to using R and a statistics newbie unfortunately. I was wondering if any of you could please tell which kind of test would be suitable for the following questions and which assumptions I should test first?

FYI, it's a study about parental behaviour in canaries and I will categorize the variables below.

1. Does Feeding behaviour vary with type of Parent Couple & Parent Sex ?
    2. Does Begging behaviour vary with type of Parent Couple ?
    3. Is there a relationship between Begging behaviour and Feeding behaviour AND is this different dependent on type of Parent Couple ?
    4. Does Growth Rate vary with Begging behaviour AND is this different dependent on type of Parent Couple ?

There are different types of measures for feeding behaviour and I will try each to see which is best suitable. All are "integer" or "numerical" (e.g. number of feedings, number of dips, duration of feedings). Same for begging behaviour. Begging intensity is "integer". Growth rate is also numerical.

Parent Couple is categorical: either preferred (P) or unpreferred (U).
    Parent Sex as well: Male (M) or Female (F).

I tried linear mixed models with lme4 package but i'm not sure this is right.
    e.g.
    > lm1<-lmer(NF~PP+PS+BRSZ+PP:PS+PP:BRSZ+PS:BRSZ+(1|NESTNR), data=merge(A,B))
    > lm2<-lmer(NF~PP+PS+BRSZ+PP:PS+PP:BRSZ+(1|NESTNR), data=merge(A,B))
    > anova(lm1,lm2)

This way choosing the most suitable model. With NF = n of feedings, PP = Parent Couple, PS = Parent Sex, BRSZ = brood size and NESTNR = the nest which would be a random factor. Then when finding the most suitable one, I use summary().

Then I tested for normality:
    > shapiro.test(residuals(lm7)) with lm7 the most suitable model
    > qqnorm(residuals(lm7))