+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Which approach to use for designing my experiments (DoE)?

Level completed: 9%, Points required for next Level: 45

Thanks

Post Which approach to use for designing my experiments (DoE)?

Hi all and welcome to my first post.

I am new to the field of DoE and did a lot of background reading. Now, I need to design a series of experiments: I want to fabricate a specific part on a machine and investigate the influence of about 15 factors on the mechanical strength of that part. Some of the parameters have two levels, for which a factorial design would be fine, but some don't. They might even have a 'random' behavior: for example the position on the machine's table, the age of the material (e.g. degradation) and the relative humidity in the room. I don't expect interference between the (most) parameters, which probably makes it a little bit easier. However, due to the large amount of factors and the relatively high costs of the experiments, I am trying to reduce to number of experiments to a minimum.

Some questions might sound trivial, please take my apologies me for that.

1) What would be the best approach in general?
    1.1) .. would that be to build one group for the factors with two levels (factorial design) and investigate the ones with multiple levels individually (individual experiments method)?
    1.2).. or would that be to investigate even all parameters individually (individual experiments), because I don't expect interference?
    1.3) .. or does it make sense to reduce the factors with multiple levels to two levels (e.g. say max and min position on the table and neglect everything in between) and do a factorial design with all parameters?
    2) How many tests of the same factor and level (repetitions) are needed to get statistically correct results?

With this question I also want to make sure, that I didn't oversee certain methods which might be more appropriate.

Thank you all so much!
    Best regards
    Jo

TS Contributor