+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Help! How to interpret t-tests/t values?

Level completed: 86%, Points required for next Level: 21

Thanks

Unhappy Help! How to interpret t-tests/t values?

Hello,

I'm a journalist researching a story for a mental health publication. A number of studies I'm looking at give their results in terms of "t tests." When I searched on the Web, I found a number of sites that could tell me how to calculate a t test ... but none that told me how to interpret the number once you got it. What does this value mean?

Here's an example.

In a study of psychiatric inpatients taking yoga classes, mean scores on a standard test for tension-anxiety went from 5.7 to 3.33. The researchers calculate this has a t-value of 6.67.

My question: how am I supposed to interpret that t-value? What does that number mean? Why is it more important/valuable than just a percent change? I'm tempted to just calculate the percent change and use that when I'm writing up my story since it's a figure a lot more people will be able to understand ... would that be correct to do?

Thanks for whatever help you can offer!

TS Contributor
    Level completed: 48%, Points required for next Level: 208
    Thanks
    I'm going to over-simplify this in order to avoid writing a novel on hypothesis testing.......

It's pretty much impossible to interpet the t-value without knowing the sample sizes in the study, unless the author directly provides the corresponding probability level for the t-value (usually referred to as a p-value).

But, very basically, the t-value is a statistic that indicates the size of an effect, from the standpoint of a bell curve (a probability distribution). The further away from 0, the more likely that the effect is "statistically significant" (another way of saying that the effect is not likely due to random chance - there is likely an underlying, repeatable cause).