+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Corporate Governance Explanations effects on Firm Value

Level completed: 74%, Points required for next Level: 13

Thanks

Corporate Governance Explanations effects on Firm Value

Hi all,

I'm quite new to statistics and need some guidance for my dissertation. The University is messing up with my supervisor resulting in me working on my own for the past month on this... What I now need is to decide on the research methodology. But I'm not quite sure what would be the best type of regression to apply, and what the major concerns would be. I'm hoping someone will be able to help me in the right direction so I can start looking for specific information on how to proceed.

Basically what I'm trying to do is measure the effect of a firm's explanation of their non-compliance to the Dutch code of corporate governance on the firm's value (using Tobin's Q ratio).

Some backgrounds information: The Dutch code is full of provisions with best practices that companies are to apply or explain why they don't.

I will categorize these explanations in categories such as: "it is a temporary deviation of the code", "laws in other countries the firm is active in do not allow for the application of this best practice", "too costly to apply", etc. (a total of 8 categories).

I would control for certain factors such as firm size and leverage ratio. and the sample size would be the top 75 traded companies based on the AEX, AMX and ASX indices.

Goal of the research is to measure whether investors care solely about the application rate of the code (i.e. 94% of the codes best practices have been applied) or care about the (type of) explanations of non-appliance as well. As a lot of explanations provided are of low quality that don't say much (i.e. "we do not apply this best practice as the board decided against it") I felt the need to distinguish between them.