+ Reply to Thread

Thread: If B predicts A, can A also predicts B?

Level completed: 45%, Points required for next Level: 27

Thanks

Question If B predicts A, can A also predicts B?

Hi everyone, I'm new to multiple regression analysis. I have a question and I hope someone can help answer it. Thank you.

In a multiple regression analysis, B, along with several other predictors, was found to be a predictor of A. Literature also says B is a predictor of A.

Since A and B are significantly correlated, I am wondering: can A also be one of the predictors of B? When running a multiple regression analysis for B, should A be added to the model as one of the potential predictors?
    (In literature, no one has tested whether A is a predictor of B.)

Omega Contributor
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,185 Times in 1,146 Posts

Re: If B predicts A, can A also predicts B?

Given your description - I have many questions. Can you provide a context for what you are writing about?

B and A are not transformations of the same thing are they?

Based on temporary of events, does B happen before A. So if we said good grades are predict graduating, we can say graduating predicts good grades.

I guess we just need to know more about A and B as well as their relationship.

3. The Following User Says Thank You to hlsmith For This Useful Post:

statsnewbie28 (09-23-2015)

Thanks

Thanks hlsmith for your reply.

A is science knowledge; B is scientific misconceptions.

A doesn't come before B, or vice versa. Data collected using two sets of questions presented in a survey.

A is the sum score of a set of questions assessing science knowledge; B is the sum score of a set of questions assessing scientific misconceptions.

Thanks

I asked this question because I read this: independent variables predict the dependent variable, but the reverse is not true; the dependent variable cannot predict the values of the independent variables.