+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Calculating the Probability of a Subset

Level completed: 43%, Points required for next Level: 28

Thanks

Calculating the Probability of a Subset

I'm a newbie and not a stats savvy so help and guidance is appreciated. If I use incorrect terms please forgive and correct.

The data set population is 6530 contests, of which 3791 wins, 2731 loses and 8
    ties. Probability is .5812 (Note: Ties reduce the number of contests for
    purposes of calculation)

Of the 6530 contests, 6376 were Regular contests, of which 3698 wins,
    2670 loses and 8 ties.

The remaining 154 contests were Post Season, of which 93 wins and 61 loses.

So my question is what is the correct method of calculating the probability of each subset? Simple right! Thanks in advance,

Thumper

Omega Contributor
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,186 Times in 1,147 Posts

Re: Calculating the Probability of a Subset

Probabilities are just the number of events of interest divided by the total number of opportunities for an event. So if you have a subset you just use the new total sample number as the denominator and the number of events per subset as the numerator.

I believe it is really as simple as that.

Thanks

Quote Originally Posted by hlsmith View Post
    Probabilities are just the number of events of interest divided by the total number of opportunities for an event. So if you have a subset you just use the new total sample number as the denominator and the number of events per subset as the numerator.

I believe it is really as simple as that.
    So based on that the following would be true;

SEASON WINS CONTESTS PROBABILITY
    Regular 3698 6368 0.58071608
    Post 93 154 0.603896104
    Population 3791 6522 0.581263416