+ Reply to Thread

Thread: regression of car accidents vs age (question about normality and implement gender)

Level completed: 85%, Points required for next Level: 23

Thanks

regression of car accidents vs age (question about normality and implement gender)

a few basic questions. I'm just starting to learn regression so I'm trying to apply what I'm learning.

I have a set of data with ages ranging from 15 to 75, and the number of car accidents they have.

I scatterplot my data (age on the X axis, # of accidents on Y axis ). The result looks like a curve. # of accidents increase gradually from age 16, peaks at around 24, and decreases until 75, and zeros out. correlation is about -.75 according to Excel.

1st question:
    The # of accidents is not normally distributed (it skews to the left a bit). Can I still do a regression analysis on this? my 'stats' book says it needs to be normally distributed. If so, how do I resolve this?

2nd question:
    If it doesn't need to be normal, how do I explain the data? since the data looks like a curve, I applied a polynomial trend line to it. But when I plugged in random ages to see if it make sense, it seems to be undershooting the number of accidents. I increased the polynomial order to 6 and the graph line seemed to fit the scatterplot better, but when I plug in certain age ranges, the result is a negative # of accidents (which does not make sense).

3rd question:
    I want to add gender to my regression. doesn't my independent variable need to be numerical? how do I apply gender if that is the case?

Level completed: 14%, Points required for next Level: 43

Thanks

Re: regression of car accidents vs age (question about normality and implement gender

Hello, this tutorial may be of some use to you: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kFasmbrDG5I

Gender - code them as 0 (Male) and 1 (Female)

Thanks

Re: regression of car accidents vs age (question about normality and implement gender