+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Finding threshold

Level completed: 72%, Points required for next Level: 14

Thanks

Question Finding threshold

Hello,

I'm a geographic student and I'm studying time series of vegetation index. I'm french and even if I'm quite fluent in communicating in english, I may lack some specific vocabulary needed to be precise in what I'm asking, please forgive me for that.

I have a scene with 374 dates, and for each pixel I extract some tendancy which are linear. For each of these lines I've got a slope value, and for each pixel I can have from 1 to generally 5 slope values.

If the slope is positive, then I can consider a greening tendency of the area for the period, and if it is negative, it means some browning tendency. The point is I have some slope values that are near 0, and some extrem others that are around +/-140. So I cannot consider the period near zero really as a greening/browning period.

My question is as follow : is there a statistical method which could help me figure out what threshold to use to consider the slope as 0 (nor greening nor browning), like between +/-0.01 or +/-0.1 or +/-1...?

Obviously, since I am wrinting a research paper, I do not ask for some threshold values, but more for some direction were to look to find it myself, I cannot even figure out what to google to get this information...

Thanks for reading me.

Cheers.
    Guillaume

TS Contributor
    Level completed: 45%, Points required for next Level: 223
    Thanks

Re: Finding threshold

hi,
    I don't think I understand your problem completely but at the first sight this is pretty much what the significance test would tell you. Slopes that are not significant might be just a random fluke, significant slopes probably not. The best part is that you do not need a threshold, the calculation will take random fluctuations into account.

regards

3. The Following User Says Thank You to rogojel For This Useful Post:

Girish (06-26-2016)

Thanks