+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Normal? Bimodal normal? Some other distribution?

Level completed: 76%, Points required for next Level: 36

Thanks

Normal? Bimodal normal? Some other distribution?

Hello! I am a newbie here. First I want to say HI to everyone!

And I do have a question here.

I am trying to model my data that ideally is expected to follow a normal distribution. But I am suspecting it might be bimodal. Well, I am having trouble posting a picture here, so please bear with me as next I am going to describe to you how the histogram plot of the data looks like.

Imagine the horizontal axis has values ranging from -6 to 5. The first peak (about 3.3%) was reached at about -3.7 and the frequency drops until it reaches 1.6% at about 0. Then the frequency goes up slightly and reaches 1.8% (the second peak) at about 0.5. Then the histogram continues like one for a normal distribution.

Now my questions are:
    Can I treat the data with a histogram like this as normal? If not, do I have to perform a multimodality test and how? IF the test shows it is bimodal can I do anything to separate the two normal distributions (and then treat each of them individually)? If it might be fitted by some other distribution, what could it be??

Thanks for your attention and I am looking forward to hearing your expert comments!

Level completed: 14%, Points required for next Level: 129

Thanks
    I'm no expert but have given your questions some thought. Here's my $0.02: