+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Limited multiple response data - analysis and sample size calculation

Level completed: 37%, Points required for next Level: 31

Thanks

Limited multiple response data - analysis and sample size calculation

Hello all,

I am a relative novice at statistics and have run into a problem working out how to analyse some data I will hopefully soon be acquiring. I would appreciate advice.

The data

What I want to do is compare the responses of a survey question of two groups of subjects to see if the two groups answer the question differently. The question has the form illustrated below:

"Which of the below are the best letters? Pick THREE options:
    A
    B
    C
    D
    E
    F
    G
    H"

From what I have read, my "pick three from eight" data can almost be described as categorical "multiple response" data, as in the following resources:
    http://www.jaqm.ro/issues/volume-4,i...hedi_kumar.pdf, http://link.springer.com/chapter/10....7908-1813-0_18, http://statistika.vse.cz/konference/...asil+Vlach.pdf.

However, the difference between my data and what is described there is that my question forces every subject to pick three and only three answers, whereas those papers look as "pick any number of responses" kind of data.

The questions

I have two questions.

First, how should I analyse this data? What I want is essentially a test of independance of two samples of "pick three" multiple response data. My first thought was to use a chi squared as my data is categorical, but further research says that this is not appropriate when there are multiple responses per subject. I suspect I need some kind of corrected chi square test (Rao-scott is a name that keeps coming up), but as none of the resources I have read quite match my type of data I am not sure.