+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Please help me select the correct statistical test

Level completed: 21%, Points required for next Level: 39

Thanks

Please help me select the correct statistical test

I'm a general surgery resident and am conducting a quality improvement study about waste in the OR. My statistics background is limited to what I was taught during medical school and what I've taught myself over the years while conducting research. I'm using Stata 12 to perform my analysis.

In simple, my study is examining surgical waste in the OR due to setup, nursing staff, and surgeons with and without an intervention to decrease waste. Unfortunately it doesn't appear that the intervention was effective, but there does seem to be a difference in number of wasted items between the three groups (setup, nursing, surgeon). I'm trying to determine the best test to compare the three groups. I essentially need a test of three continuous variables. I believe it is an ANOVA but I'm not sure and also don't know exactly how to code this in Stata. An example of my database is as such:

Observation; Pre/Post intervention; Waste(setup); Waste(nurse); Waste(surgeon)
    1 Pre 3 3 0
    2 Pre 5 2 1
    3 Pre 2 1 0
    4 Pre 7 2 1
    5 Pre 8 0 2
    6 Post 7 2 1
    7 Post 6 1 1
    8 Post 3 0 0
    9 Post 2 1 0
    10 Post 5 3 2

This is just an example of the database's formatting and not representative of the actual data. Please let me know the best way to compare the three groups. As an added request, I would greatly appreciate any advice on how to code it in Stata but if not I can figure that out on my own if I know which test to use. What I'm hoping to be able to conclude from this dataset would be simply that most surgical waste is due to setup and the interventions implemented were ineffective and other means to decrease waste could be such and such and such directed at blah blah blah as evidenced by blah.

Thank you in advance for any help!

Omega Contributor