Hello Everyone,

I’m writing a paper on the relationship between weather on daily public bike share system usage. I’m looking for a bit of advice regarding the quality of my statistical analysis. I’m not sure if this is an acceptable post. If not, I deeply apologize. I’m a student of statistics and plan to use stats in the transportation planning field.

I’d like to know if my residual and QQ plots are accurate, and the OLS analysis is of good quality.

Thank you in advanced.

Ordinary Least Square Regression

Historical weather and daily bike hire counts were analysed using an ordinary least square regression (OLS) model. The statistical language and environment R was used to count daily bike hires, extract weather data from wundergournd.com, and carry out the analysis. The OLS model was generated using the following function in R.

a <- lm(formula = Freq ~ Dew_PointC + Max_Gust_SpeedKm_h + Max_Humidity +
Max_TemperatureC + Max_Wind_SpeedKm_h + Mean_Humidity + Mean_TemperatureC + Mean_VisibilityKm + Mean_Wind_SpeedKm_h + MeanDew_PointC + Min_DewpointC +Min_Humidity + Min_TemperatureC + Min_VisibilitykM + Events, data = SSS1, x = TRUE)

An OLS linear regression model functions to minimize the sum of squares of the error between the observed data and the theoretical data. It is an extension of simple, single variant regression using the following function.

y = a + b1x1 + b2x2 + …. + bnxn
(where y is the dependent variable, a=intercept and b=slope of the line)

An OLS regression model assumes residuals are normally distributed (Field, Miles, and Field). A normal plot was used to test the validity of this assumption. Figure 4 suggests normally distributed residuals in the OLS analysis. Thee normal plot was generated using the following code in R.

a2= rstandard(a)
qqplot <- qqnorm(a2, ylab="Standardized Residuals", xlab="Normal Scores", main="Weather
and Bike Hire Counts") + grid()
qqline(a2)

Figure 4: Normal Plot of Residuals