+ Reply to Thread

Thread: What would be the appropriate statistical tool?

Level completed: 19%, Points required for next Level: 40

Thanks

What would be the appropriate statistical tool?

Dear all,
    I am a graduate researcher in the analysis phase of my research work. My research is an intervention research (n=14) trying to analyze the impact (pre and post) of the sports program. I donít have a control group for this research. My dependent variables fall under ordinal, likert and continuous types, and my independent variable would be age and attendance. My question is, will paired t-test is suffice for this kind of data set? Does t-test work with binary variables? Is it worth running normality for binary data? Finally, kindly suggest another alternative for a data set with different type of dependent variables.

Your help and suggestions are welcomed and greatly appreciated.

Thanks and Regards
    Jerrome

Level completed: 8%, Points required for next Level: 138

Thanks

Re: What would be the appropriate statistical tool?

Hi Jerrome,

the assumptions that the data follow a normal distribution will be violated if you consider ordinal data. Thus, a typical paired t-test would at best lack sensitivity, and at in the worst case provide biased estimates. However, there are non-parametric versions of the t-test which do not depend on the assumption of normality, e.g. the signed-rank test (= U-test). It is designed for paired comparisons on non-normal data.

Best

Level completed: 19%, Points required for next Level: 40

Thanks

Sir, Thanks so much for the reply. It was a timely help. Thanks again

Human
    Level completed: 57%, Points required for next Level: 174
    Awards:
    Master Tagger
    Thanks

Quote Originally Posted by mmercker View Post
    the assumptions that the data follow a normal distribution will be violated if you consider ordinal data.