+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Advice requested about mixed ANOVA

Level completed: 21%, Points required for next Level: 39

Thanks

Need your help with an Anova analysis

Hi

I'm studying the effect of different music styles on performance tasks.
    I'm considering a mixed ANOVA analysis, but I'm not very confident about my stats skills and I'd be very happy to receive good advices from the experts here.

Subjects are split (randomly) in 3 groups, based on the music style of a song (that they listen, in the experimental condition). So this condition (3 modalities : MS1, MS2, MS3) would be my between-subjects factor.

Performance is measured before and after listening to the track. Its the same performance task for all subjects. So Time (2 measures : T0, T1) would be my within-subjects factor.

Now this is what I'd like to test :

- Is there a performance improvement between T0 & T1, depending on the music style.

but more importantly :

- Is there a significant difference in the improvement between T0 & T1 depending on the music style.

In other words, is there less improvement between T0 & T1 for the performance in MS1 condition compared to the other conditions for example.

For this last one, a mixed ANOVA is especially required I guess, but I'm not sure about the way to deal with the less/more improvement aspect. Should I use the contrast or post-hoc for example ?

Thank you very much for any input.
    Last edited by sconnar; 01-18-2017 at 08:11 AM.

Level completed: 74%, Points required for next Level: 26

Thanks

Re: Need your help with an Anova analysis

If you are interested mainly in the question of whether or not the three groups show different improvements, you would be looking for a significant Time/Modality interaction, Interactions with more than two groups are hard to interpret and explain.