+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Newbie Question

Level completed: 35%, Points required for next Level: 32

Thanks

Newbie Question

Hello,
    Just wondering if someone could help me. I have a degree in Maths and have done second year Uni Maths stats (but quite a while ago) so understand basic stats.

A medical condition (X) can be on or off on any particular day.

A number of Events (Ei) can be on or off and may have an impact on X being on or off. Ei can be on or off as well.

For example, taking a particular type of pill on the day before could be E1 and may mean that X is more or less likely. Or X being off for the previous 2 days may be E2 and may result in a higher probability of it being on the next day.

I have already done an analysis of the impact of particular individual events on X using binomial distributions, much the same way that a coin is determined to be fair or not.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Binomial_test

Thus for example, if X is off for the previous 2 days, there is an 85% chance it is on the next day (on average X is on 58% of the time and off 42% of the time).

If I use the binomial distribution method, X being impacted by X being off the prior 2 days is significant at the 99.39% level.

What I would like to do is do an analysis of all Events E at once rather than individually. Thus if X is on and off the prior 2 days, then it is highly likely that this has been caused by X being off the prior 2 days rather than some other event (and the influence of these other events should be discounted in this case).

I realise that what I am asking probably requires a significant stats background, but just hoping someone can point me in the correct direction so that I can follow up the relevant statistical technique that would address this.

Tanks!

Pinky

Omega Contributor
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,186 Times in 1,147 Posts

Re: Newbie Question