+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Data scattered around y=x

Level completed: 72%, Points required for next Level: 14

Thanks

Data scattered around y=x

Hello everyone,
    I am a researcher in engineering. I do have some background on statistics and mathematics in general, but I am not a professional like many of you here. I hope you can give me some insight regarding the problem I am facing.

I have a set of data scattered more or less around the y=x line but the scatter does not start from the (0,0) point and it seems to increase with "x" (figure below). Up to a certain value of x, the data fit perfectly to a straight line. The actual best fit line is not y=x (let's say it is y=0.98x), however, it is meaningful in terms of the physical phenomena represented by the data to relate the statistics with the y=x line.

How would you describe this distribution in a meaningful and "powerful" manner as a statistician? For example, can I just calculate R^2 and say the data fits y=x with R2=...? This does not seem to be enough to me.

Thank you in advance,
    best regards!
    Last edited by math4engz; 04-23-2017 at 08:54 AM. Reason: image was not displaying on screen

Level completed: 74%, Points required for next Level: 26

Thanks

Re: Data scattered around y=x

The usual regression methods assume that the residuals are at about the same level and evenly spread along the line. Yours are not, so any results that your regression gives are suspect - slopes, intercepts, confidence intervals for those coefficients, R^2, and p values.
    Quite often the variance graphs like these can be stabilized by logging the axes to make a power graph so long as no values are zero.

3. The Following User Says Thank You to katxt For This Useful Post:

math4engz (04-23-2017)

Thanks

Quote Originally Posted by katxt View Post
    Quite often the variance graphs like these can be stabilized by logging the axes to make a power graph so long as no values are zero.