Hello all,

I've been asked to assist with the statistical analysis of some survey data, and I'm a bit of a novice with this type of analysis, so I'm hoping that some with more experience can give me a bit of guidance.

The investigators are interested in assessing the effectiveness of 6 different videos. They have shown all of the videos to each of 60 volunteers. The volunteers were then given a questionaire and asked to answer the same 6 questions in relation to each video; the questions were about various aspects of the video, with the last question being essentially "Give an overall ranking". The possible answers to each question were on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being "extremely effective" and 1 being "extremely ineffective" (except for one question, which for some reason was simply from 1 to 3). Finally, the participants were asked to rank the videos from 1 to 6.

My thinking is as follows, and please correct me if I'm wrong. There are only 6 questions, so I might as well analyze each question separately, and then analyze the final "Rank the videos" question on its own. The data is ordinal, so I should use nonparametric methods. Beyond that, I'm a little unsure of myself, and here are my questions.

1. The chi-square test comes to mind, but I'm not quite sure how to set it up. One thought is to do a 2 variable chi-square, with the two variables being "answer on the question", the other being "video number". This would then have (6-1)(5-1) = 20 degrees of freedom, but I am a little worried as to the high number of the degrees of freedom vs. the relative smallness of the sample. Do I need to make sure each bin has at least 5 entries in it, or something?