+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Too many variables - Multivariate analysis of covariance - New to this

Level completed: 29%, Points required for next Level: 35

Thanks

Too many variables - Multivariate analysis of covariance - New to this

Hi there.

This will be my first post on the forums, I'm a Psychology student currently conducting research at an internship. We treat IDD (Intellectual Developmental Disorder) patients with different types of therapy, and I've been assigned to study the dosage components of DBT (Dialectic Behavioral Therapy).*

I've never done legitimate statistical research, and my only background in the area is reading studies in my private time, a basic course on Research Methods, and a basic course on Data Analysis.*

Here's a quick background on the study:

From a pool of about 50 subjects, the correlational data I'm expected to produce accounts for a very large number of variables, both with multiple predictor IV's, dosage component IV's, and multiple behavioral outcome DV's. All of this data is pulled from client records - it is not an ongoing experiment with trials.*

We have 6 qualitative, categorical IV's (Race, Diagnoses, Medication(s), Trauma, Co-occurring Treatment, and whether DBT was individual or group therapy).*

4 quantitative, predictor IV's (Age, SES, ACE, IQ).

9 quantitative, dosage component IV's (Weeks in Treatment, Total Sessions, 6 DBT component dosages, and Out of session practice)

15 quantitative, behavioral outcome DV's (Pre/Post measures of behaviors measured on diary cards).

I'm writing the Protocol for the study, and have coded the DV's for # of incidents, as well as a 0-2 Likert scale for the diary cards in protocol.*

Here's my issue:

1). I attempted setting this up in excel, and when I ran a test of regressional analysis, my data tables and accompanying graphs do not make sense or even appear as readable data.

2). My variables are all existing on different scales:

IQ level scale