+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Prob of high risk loans defauting, student text question

Level completed: 98%, Points required for next Level: 1

Thanks

Prob of high risk loans defauting, student text question

Hi, first of all thanks for reading this. I'm 47 and trying to teach myself Stats from an excellent textbook as part of my course in maths and economics which I'm studying independently.
    The textbook in question is Statistics for business and economics by Newbold, carson and thorne.

I've been picking my way through probability and have hit a problem which I have a answer but I don't trust my method.

i'm given 3 facts
    1 only 15% loans made to high risk customers.
    2 5% of loans made are in default.
    3 of those in default 40% were made to high risk customers.

I'm taking 3 to be a conditional prob of those being in default being high risk ie (B|A)

I'm asked to find probability of high risk borrower defaulting?

the method I used was to say that P(B|A)= P(AnB)/P(A)

therefore 0.4 x 0.15 = P(AnB) = 6%

Which is higher than the given rate but not by as much as I expect considering only 15 loans made to high risk people and yet they contribute to 40% of defaults.

Am I doing something wrong, any help would be warmly welcomed.

yours

Mark

TS Contributor
    Level completed: 30%, Points required for next Level: 70

Thanks

Re: Prob of high risk loans defauting, student text question

Quote Originally Posted by Koyunbaba View Post
    Hi, first of all thanks for reading this. I'm 47 and trying to teach myself Stats from an excellent textbook as part of my course in maths and economics which I'm studying independently.
    Glad to hear you keep on learning!

I've been picking my way through probability and have hit a problem which I have a answer but I don't trust my method.

i'm given 3 facts
    1 only 15% loans made to high risk customers.
    2 5% of loans made are in default.
    3 of those in default 40% were made to high risk customers.