+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Pre/Post Likert scale--how to analyze??

Level completed: 10%, Points required for next Level: 135

Thanks

Question Pre/Post Likert scale--how to analyze??

Hi!

I am a doc student and have a few questions about a pre/post intervention likert scale I am trying to analyze. It is a 9 point sclae (1=strongly disagree to 9=strongly agree). There are 7 questions. The participants completed the survey pre and post an intervention. Here are my questions:

1. What stat test is appropriate to compare pre and post? Would the Mann-Whitney be right?

2. Is it better to look at each question individually, or should i look at the overall total when comparing? For example, should I look at all the participants combined ratings for question 1 pre/post, then question 2 pre/post, etc. Or should I total the overall score (eg, question 1 plus question 2 plus 3...) for all the participants pre and post, and compare those two numbers?

Thanks in advance for any help or advice. I appreciate it!

TS Contributor
    Level completed: 45%, Points required for next Level: 111

Thanks
    one way would be to do wilcoxon (2 related samples) seven times for each question but adjust a not 0.05 but 0.05/7 for each test. Or you can do a multivariate t-test.

Dark Knight
    Level completed: 96%, Points required for next Level: 6
    Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by doc_student View Post
    Hi!

I am a doc student and have a few questions about a pre/post intervention likert scale I am trying to analyze. It is a 9 point sclae (1=strongly disagree to 9=strongly agree). There are 7 questions. The participants completed the survey pre and post an intervention. Here are my questions:

1. What stat test is appropriate to compare pre and post? Would the Mann-Whitney be right?