+ Reply to Thread

Thread: What does t-statistics (paired t-test) tell us?

Level completed: 6%, Points required for next Level: 142

Thanks

What does t-statistics (paired t-test) tell us?

Hello,

I'm Max and this is my first time posting here.First let me just say how relieved and grateful I am to now know that there exists a help community for everything related to statistics and particularly research.

This is the summary of my problem:
    I am currently conducting a semi quantitative educational research; in particular I'm examining if linguistics modification to maths test will significantly improve test takers results, especially among ESL or EFL learners.

I administered two sets of test; the 1st contain 9 sets of unmodified questions while the 2nd set contains the modified, parallel version of the 9 original questions. Both tests were administered in a sitting to a total of 163 students; the 9+9=18 questions were mixed up randomly. Students were reported for two sets of score - pre test score (X) and post test score (Y).
    Thus I have two sets of data - overall pre test score and overall post test score.

A paired t-test was conducted using SPSS to examine if there is any difference between the two sets of overall scores. Here are the results:

(Pair) Mod.Score vs Ori.Score = (Mean difference is) -0.24 points
    Std dev=1.590, std error mean=.125
    (Within 95% confidence level) Upper=-.485, Lower=.007
    t=1.921, df=162, sig(2-tailed) = .056

As such, it can be concluded that the difference between the two tests can be attributed to chance, and thus linguistics modification CANNOT and DO NOT help students do any better.

My problem is, what does t-statistics value mean? What does t=1.921 tell us in this condition? Does it mean more?