+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Interpreting interaction terms in multiple regression

Level completed: 78%, Points required for next Level: 44

Thanks

Interpreting interaction terms in multiple regression

Hi everybody,

I'm a master's student who's working on the last analysis for my thesis project. I'm studying possible predictors of satisfaction in women with midwife and obstetrician birth attendants. What I'm wondering is how to interpret significant interactions in multiple regression. I have attached my SPSS output as a Word document. Please look at it before reading any further.

BA is a dichotomous variable (0=MW group, 1=OB group). I know that because the interaction terms (BA*MAST and BA*NATU) are significant, that the relationship between MAST and TOTSAT depends on level of BA, and the relationship between NATU and TOTSAT depends on level of BA. I have been doing lots of reading about interaction terms in MR (e.g., Aiken & West, 1991) and am unsure about how to properly graph the interaction terms, or if this is even necessary to make an interpretive statement.

The way I've interpreted them (that I am unsure of) is by substituting in values of the continuous predictor variable at one SD above and below the mean in the regression equation (containing only the terms that make up the interaction and the interaction term) and then plotting the slopes for each category of the dichotomous variable (MW or OB). Doing this resulted in the following calculations for the BA*NATU interaction:

When BA = 1 and NATU is low:
    TOTSAT = constant - .46(BA) + .36(NAT) - .37(BA*NAT)
    = 2.902 - .46(1) + .36(3.81) - .37(3.81)
    = 2.402

When BA = 1 and NATU is high:
    TOTSAT = 2.902 - .46(1) + .36(5.59) - .37(5.59)
    = 2.382

When BA = 0 and NATU is low:
    TOTSAT = 2.902 - .46(0) + .36(3.81) -.37(0)
    = 4.27

When BA = 0 and NATU is high:
    TOTSAT = 2.902 - .46(0) + .36(5.59) - .37(0)
    = 4.91