AMOS SEM model drawing rules

hi!

This is my first attempt to draw a model in SPSS AMOS 19. I am confused by seeing that I cannot draw covariance arrow between two variables, A and B provided there is a path arrow pointing from C to one of them.

Could you explain it to me?

What is the difference between drawing two separate path arrows from A to B and vica versa and drawing a covariance arrow between them?

I know these questions sound elementary, but I could not figure out these from the Help and even from the User Guide.. :-(

cheers

CB

Super Moderator
hi!

This is my first attempt to draw a model in SPSS AMOS 19. I am confused by seeing that I cannot draw covariance arrow between two variables, A and B provided there is a path arrow pointing from C to one of them.
It's hard to answer this without seeing the path diagram (attaching it might be helpful). At a guess I'd say it might be a problem with the covariance term forcing the model to be obviously unidentified.

If you're just getting started with Amos you might find Barbara Byrne's book on SEM with Amos helpful - see if you can get hold of a copy!

What is the difference between drawing two separate path arrows from A to B and vica versa and drawing a covariance arrow between them?
Conceptually speaking, two path arrows would mean you believe that each of the two variables has a causal effect on the other. A covariance term simply means you're allowing the variables to be correlated without making specific statements about their causal relationship. In practical terms I'm not sure if you'd be able to estimate a model with bidirectional causality (path arrows in both directions) between two latents - I can't see how such a model could be identified.

I have a similar problem and need help.