benefit of Proc SQL vs SQL vs learning SAS syntax

I'm just starting to learn SAS and I'm wanting to know which direction I should take in my learning.

I work in a financial industry and our primary database work is in SQL Developer. My main objective in learning SAS is so I am able do statistical analysis on my datasets(I'm still new to SAS, so I do not know of any database benefits of SAS vs SQL).

I know that SAS has it's own syntax, and also it has the proc SQL which will let me code in SQL syntax.

My question is whether it is beneficial to start from the beginning in learning SAS (i.e code in the SAS interface), or can I use SAS just for it's statistical tools (I,e instead of coding in SAS, just import my SQL Data every time)?

What is the benefit if proc sql vs coding in SQL dev/server and then import the data?

Also, can SAS on it's own be used as a database management software like SQL, or does it really need proc sql to do all the joins, etc etc

Can I just learn the statistical functions without knowing the basic SAS syntax (since I would have already formatted and manipulated my data in SQL before outputting)?

bryangoodrich

Probably A Mammal
Depending on what you're trying to do, you'll want to know some base SAS coding. SAS manages sas7bat files as if they were database tables, so in that sense, you can code SQL against your SAS data. Additionally, SAS can make external connections to your database sources to which your SAS SQL code will get translated to the native database language. The nice thing about SQL is at its core, it is universal. If something accepts full ANSI SQL, then you can code SQL against it. However, every database engine extends SQL with specific functions and ways to make things easier (e.g., pivoting data, doing row-based operations, different aggregate calculations or date functions).