Bonferroni Correction

I have been using SPSS for about four months. I am not a statistician. I continue to learn something new every minute that I am working with this program. I am looking at scores for achievement levels based on race. When I run the data, here are my steps:
  1. Analyze
  2. multivariate
  3. DV= Reading, Math Score
  4. IV = Race, Gender, Special Education Status, Dummy Race W, Dummy Race AA
    post hoc = Bonferroni Correction

Once I run the data, I get .188 significance level for reading and .052 for math on the pairwise comparison for race. If I continue and run a Bonferroni correction, I get .001 for reading and .000 math which of course shows significance.

But when I run the Dummy Race W and Dummy Race AA, I get a significance level of .027 for reading and .007 for math on the pairwise comparison. These scores are based on estimated marginal means.

I guess my questions would be, can I run a Bonferroni Correction if no significance is noted on the initial analysis for race. Is it acceptable to divide (disaggregate) the race data to a more specific level, of White and African American, where an initial run demonstrates significance? Are those levels of significance acceptable? When should I use a Bonferroni Correction and when should I not use it?

If anyone has an answer or assistance, I am wide open for it. Thanks!!

Hey,

I'm not too much of a statistician myself. But from I know post-hoc tests are only conducted if you find a significant interaction in an omnibus test (in this case, the ANOVA). The very purpose of doing post-hoc testing is to see where the differences lie, because an ANOVA tells us there is a difference somewhere but we don't know exactly where. So we do follow up analyses or post-hoc tests.