Comparing 3 treatments (bimodal results)

Hi everyone

I am new here and nearly a complete noob in statistics and my purpose is to learn as much as possible… so I will need a lot of help, so thanks in advance for your consideration.

Here I go with my first question:

• I have 3 different treatments (A, B, C).
  • They are applied to patients that could be healthy or ill before they receive it.
  • After receiving the treatments, they could remain in the same state they were before or they can change.
For instance:

Code:
|    ID    |    PRE-TREATMENT    |    TREATMENT    |    POST-TREATMENT    |
|    1    |    HEALTHY        |    A        |    HEALTHY        |
|    2    |    ILL            |    B        |    HEALTHY        |
|    3    |    ILL            |    A        |    ILL            |
|    4    |    HEALTHY        |    A        |    HEALTHY        |
|    5    |    HEALTHY        |    C        |    ILL            |
|    …    |    …            |    …        |    …            |
|    6    |    HEALTHY        |    B        |    HEALTHY        |
What kind of test would be adequate to determine if there are differences among treatments?

I was thinking about creating a variable EVOLUTION that could be:
  • Improves.
  • Remains the same.
  • Gets worse.
And then just make a proportion test. But I don’t know if it would be valid and if there would be a more elegant method.

Thank you again!!!

I'm going McNemar's test. = difference between #improves and #gets worse / divided by their sum.
fed2, thank you for your help.

But as I said, I am a noob and I need some further explanation.

As far as I know, McNemar compares two groups of paired observations... but here we have three groups. And what is the rationale in calculating the difference between #improves and #get worse and to divide it by their sum? Do you mean to do it in an aggregate way?

Thank you. And, again, excuse my lack of knowledge.

Karabiner

TS Contributor