Comparing affected sides instead of just left and right.

Hi.
I'm relatively new to statistics and SPSS.

I've been testing the shoulder strength of 200 shoulder patients divided into two groups. I've been testing both of their shoulders, so I could have a reference value.

I would like to compare the affected shoulder of group 1 to the affected shoulder of group 2. The problem is, I entered the data as left and right instead of affected side and unaffected side.

I have entered the affected side for each patients as a categoric value (0=right and 1= left), but I can't figure out how I combine this, so I can compare the affected side of group 1 to the affected side of group 2 - instead of just comparing left and right.
I'm using the independent T-test.

Any help is much appreciated. Thank you.

If I've understood correctly, your data looks something like this, right?

Code:
id     grp     left   right  aff_side
1	1	62	23	1
2	2	78	34	0
3	1	35	75	1
4	2	43	54	1
5	1	37	87	0
6	2	53	97	0
If that's correct, then you need to use some if statements to create your DV like so:

Code:
if aff_side = 0 my_dv = right.
if aff_side = 1 my_dv = left.
exe.
Then you can run your comparison with group as the IV and my_dv as the DV.

If I've understood correctly, your data looks something like this, right?

Code:
id     grp     left   right  aff_side
1	1	62	23	1
2	2	78	34	0
3	1	35	75	1
4	2	43	54	1
5	1	37	87	0
6	2	53	97	0
If that's correct, then you need to use some if statements to create your DV like so:

Code:
exe.
Then you can run your comparison with group as the IV and my_dv as the DV.
Thank you. It makes sense. Would you care to elaborate how I do this exactly?

Open your dataset then open a syntax window by going to File -> New -> Syntax. Paste the following into the syntax window and change 'aff_side', 'right', and 'left' into whatever you've called those variables in your dataset.

Code:
exe.
Then press Ctrl-A to highlight all of the syntax, then Ctrl-R to run it.