Does this compound extend the model organism's lifespan?

Hello,

I am testing an experimental drug on snails in a small pilot study. The compound has the desired effect in vivo that we are looking for. As an interesting side note, I have noticed that the only snails still living now, four months later, all received the experimental compound. All snails that received a different compound have died, as well as controls which received nothing. Snails only have a lifespan of 12-16 months when kept at room temperature, and since they were full grown when we got them I assume the snails that have died have done so normally, dying of old age.

I have no background in probability and wanted to see if the experts here can tell me how to determine what the chances are that this is an authentic phenomenon rather than coincidence. I apologize for the small sample size in this experiment.

The experiment was as follows-

Snail 1 Injected with saline
Snail 2 Injected with 2mg/kg compound X
Snail 3 Injected with 10mg/kg compound X
Snail 4 Injected with 20mg/kg compound X

Snail 5 Injected with saline
Snail 6 Injected with 2mg/kg compound Y
Snail 7 Injected with 10mg/kg compound Y
Snail 8 Injected with 20mg/kg compound Y

Snail 9 No injection

Snails 2,3,4 are still living and healthy. All others have died. Thank you so much for any assistance!

Thanks for your response! The snails were separated randomly into treatment groups by weight. They were all approx. the same size, so I assume they were of similar ages, but that is just speculation.