Doubt in performing Kruskal Wallis test

Hi Folks:

I'm a newbie in using SPSS. I'm trying to find a way to perform a Kruskal Wallis test (non parametric) in SPSS. I have idefined in SPSS data that I transferred from Ms Excel out of my thesis questionaire, which has a 19 question section of a 1-5 likert scale, plus 8 demographic questions, for a total of 131 respondents. (so have a total of 27 variables.) I'm trying to perform the test between 2 sub-groups of data (0-4 years of experience versus 15 + years of experience, both variables are from demographic data) in SPSS and have 2 questions:

1- I have defined the 19 variables of the likert data as ordinal, while the 8 variables for demographic as nominal. Is this the right way to do it?
2- Under non parametric tests, I selected "Tests for several independent samples", where it asks for the test variable list and the grouping variable. I understand the 19 variables of the likert would go on the test variable list, since want to check the outcome of all 19 variables. Then, what should I input as the grouping variable?

Thanks,

Francisco

Last edited:
1-Correct for the likert-scale variables but I think some demographic variables can be ordinal (or scale, depending on how they were measured).
2-If you want to check the difference between years of experience, the grouping variable should be the "year of experience" one - or a variable based on it (if you have values from 1 to 15, you should compute a new variable like: 0-4=1, 15+=2).
One more thing: If you have only two sub-groups, you can use a 2 independent sample test (Mann-Whitney).

1-Correct for the likert-scale variables but I think some demographic variables can be ordinal (or scale, depending on how they were measured).