Help on Chi-Square Statistics

Hi, I have an experiment for my masters thesis and I’m confused about which statistical test I should use.
In my experiment I’m looking if there is an association between food types and locations. My variables are food type (with 4 levels) and location (with 8 levels).
The experiment has 3 parts. In part 1 I will ask participants to place each food picture into 8 possible boxes as they wish. In part 2 they will rate each picture in terms of healthiness and calories, and learn the actual caloric values. In part 3 they will do the placement task once more, to see if learning the actual values change anything in the placement.
I have two objectives: see if each food type is likely to be placed in certain locations more than the others, and compare the before and after placements (part 1 and part 3) to see if learning about the values changes placement.
I thought I should use chi-square because I’ll be comparing frequencies of placement. However, I’m confused about which chi-square stat I should be using.
I thought I should use chi-square test of independence for part 1 and part 3 separately. I’d have a 4x8 contingency table with placement frequencies. For comparing part 1 and part 3 I could use goodness of fit, using part 1 as expected values and part 3 as observed values and compare how good they fit each other.
However, someone commented that I can’t use test of independence because once an item is placed in a box, no other item can be placed in that box. This creates a dependency between food type and locations. They suggested that I can run a 1x8 independence test for each food type. However, if I do that I face an issue with degrees of freedom. According to degrees of freedom calculation df = (rows -1) x (columns – 1). If I do a 1x8 for 4 food types, then my degrees of freedom become 0.
In short, I wonder if which statistical test I need to use in order to do this experiment. I hope I made it clear. Thank you so much in advance!