Help with SPSS test.

Hi All,

NOOB here! I am trying to decide what tests to run on the data from this experiment with 30 participants;

PART 1
We recorded how much television (in minutes) each participant watches in day, and how much of this time was spent watching cartoons (in minutes), they then complete a psychometric test and receive a score between 0 -21.

PART 2 We recorded how much television (in minutes) each participant watches the next day, and tell them to try and abstain from watching cartoons, they then complete the same psychometric test and receive another score between 0-21.

example data returned
PART1
Participant ID 1001 - watched 270 minutes TV in total, and 70 minutes cartoons and scored 14

PART 2
Participant ID 1001 - watched 200 minutes TV in total, and 5 minutes cartoons and scored 12

All good up to this point. I have run checks that data is normally distributed and the paired t-test shows p<0.026.

My issue is what test to run after this? I want to analyse how the number of minutes in total and number of minutes on cartoons has an effect on the score and any interplay.

My first instinct was a multiple regression then a repeated measure anova? what do you think?

Thanks,
Jim

Karabiner

TS Contributor
That looks like a case for multilevel modeling. The 2 time points are nested within participants.

With kind regards

Karabiner

Last edited:
Thank you, I'm not familiar with this analysis so I will have to do some research on it...

For the analysis would it be better if I enter the times in SPSS like so?

Participant ID 1001 - 200 minutes TV excluding cartoons, 70 minutes cartoons and scored 14.

instead of;

Participant ID 1001 - 270 minutes TV in total, and 70 minutes cartoons and scored 14.

or would the second version allow more analysis of how watching cartoons effects total time watching TV? e.g. it may increase total time and this may affect the overall score.