Hey! Student trying to graduate

Hey everyone,

My name is Charlotte and I am currently an Information Management master student. I am only 5 weeks away from my master thesis deadline. The subject of my master thesis is cross-device and cross-channel conversion and i am writing it at a leading e-commerce company (Amazon-like webshop) where I have set up an experiment in Google AdWords. The idea is that when people are going to buy a product, they orient on their smartphone and make the actual purchase on a larger device. Current attribution models assign conversion to the last (paid) channel used before placing an order, thus assigning too little value to the mobile channel if my hypothesis is correct.

The experiment I have set up is a geo-experiment with four regions. In 3 region I boost a certain type of keyword on mobile devices (there are 3 types) and on 1 region I do nothing. The experiment runs for 4 periods of two weeks. After each period the treatments rotate, so that each region has had the same treatment at some point in time after 4 periods. Why a geo experiment? Because once people put their smartphone in their pocket and switch to a different device, we cannot track them anymore. With a geo experiment I am assuming that most people stay within a certain perimeter.