How do I organise vignette study in SPSS?

Hello,

I am a 3rd-year forensic psychology student. My dissertation project includes 4 vignettes that differentiate between each other by two variables (intoxicated vs sober & provocatively vs neutrally dressed). Under each vignette, I pasted the same set of questions including the Illinois Rape Myth Acceptance Scale (19 items) and Global Belief in Just World (8 items). When I exported the data into SPSS I obtained around 140 columns which overwhelms me a lot and unable me to test the data for assumptions or internal consistency. How do I organise it or combine them into one column for each question instead of having 4??? My study includes 4 independent variables: victim's clothing and intoxication level, participants' age and just world belief. My dependent variable is rape myth acceptance. Please help my deadline is in a month! print screen.jpg

Karabiner

TS Contributor
I suppose that you have 4 experimental grous, one for each condition (vignette)?
In that case you need 1 column in which you put the information whether a subject
was presented with "intoxicated" or with "sober"; and another column for
"provocatively dressed" versus "neutral". You already have the column for age.
You need 8 columns for the just world items, and finally, 19 columns for
the RMA. Im am not sure how your data is organized at present, or why
the same subject in your screenshot can have 2*8 JWB items.

With kind regards

Karabiner

I suppose that you have 4 experimental grous, one for each condition (vignette)?
In that case you need 1 column in which you put the information whether a subject
was presented with "intoxicated" or with "sober"; and another column for
"provocatively dressed" versus "neutral". You already have the column for age.
You need 8 columns for the just world items, and finally, 19 columns for
the RMA. Im am not sure how your data is organized at present, or why
the same subject in your screenshot can have 2*8 JWB items.