how to enter certain data, and should i use t test?

Hi all,:wave:
I'm new here and need life saving help with my MEd dissertation! I'm studying moral development (SRMS SCORE) and play opportunities (TIME SCORE) and the differences between urban and rural areas.
My variables are as follows: age, ***, region, SRMS moral dev score, and time playing with social interaction, time for play without social interaction.

I have the data for each participant (300) entered in SPSS, except for the time variables... these I only have the average for the 2 regions; urban and rural.

I was thinking that I might run a t test? Is this correct?
I don't know how to enter the data for 'time' variables as I only have the average, and not individual, unlike all my other variables... can anyone advise me on how to rectify this or work with this?

I really appreciate any help that you can give... I'm at my wits end!!

Thank you, T. :)

Yes, you could run a t-test to determine if there is a difference between the moral development scores in 2 distinct regions (urban vs. rural). Then if the difference is significant (probably use p=.05), you can start looking into why.

For the time played, you can still run t-tests without the individual points... if you have the standard deviations and the sample size. Without the standard deviations, it'd be hard to tell whether the between group variance is bigger than the within group variance. And without the sample size, it'd be hard to tell how relevant your results are. As for SPSS, I have no experience in it. So, to summarize: yes, I suggest t-tests to start. Then you can look into ANOVA or multiple regression to see why the two data sets are different.