If statement braces not producing an output

Hello and thanks for your help,

I am fairly new to Stata and am having issues trying to get the following if statement to run. When I run the "if statement" from my "do file" it simply shows the code without any changes occurring.
I found the only way it will run is if I exclude the following: "(end_date - start_date[_n+1]) >= -1)

Here is the code:

gen HEPLOS=.
gen Stopper=0
if ((((end_date - start_date[_n+1]) >= -1) & (ID== ID[_n+1])) & Stopper!= 1) {
replace HEPLOS= (end_date[_n+1] - start_date)
replace Stopper=1
replace Stopper[_n+1]=1
}

Is it coded incorrectly? I don't understand why I don't get any output even when I put trace on.

Essentially what the code is suppose to be doing is finding the total length of stay for an "episode" which accounts for admissions on the same day or one day later. I have several of these statements and they only get larger (but are essentially identical) when I count if they are admitted 2, 3, 4 times consecutively. I created a "Stopper" which stops the code from proceeding if it has been accounted for by those other larger re-admissions codes (double counting).

Thanks again for any help!

bukharin

RoboStataRaptor
You're getting mixed up between the "if" qualifier and the "if" command. See -help if- and -help ifcmd-. I don't really understand your data structure so can't offer any specific advice on how to fix the problem. If you post a sample of your data along with how you'd like it to look that would make it a lot easier.

Thanks for the response and any help is appreciated!

My data resembles this:
(Note: each column represents an admission and discharge from the hospital)

View attachment 4855
View attachment 4856

So just to clarify my goal:
• The variable “HEPLOS”= Hospital episode length of stay