Invasive mussels: use ANOVA or another type of analysis

Hope this is right place for this:
I am a PhD student studying performance and population dynamics of invasive freshwater mussels (zebra and quagga mussels or Z and Q). I'm planning field work for my second field season and I need to determine how I will analyze the data I collect.

For my first experiment, I will have two different species of mussels arranged in groups in PVC tubes (eg ZZ, ZQ, QQ, QZ)(water is flowing in one direction). I want to see if the species at the front of the tube depletes the available food for the species at the back of the tube. I was thinking of doing an ANOVA with two fixed factors (position in the tube, and Other Species in the tube) with two levels each (front or back of tube; and Z or Q mussels). However, I fear that the fixed factor "other species" will be skewed, because really, the mussel in the back of the tube should have no effect on the mussels at the front.

Because my experience in biostats is kind of limited, I'm not sure what I should use instead. Maybe PCA?

I have other questions but I figure this one is confusing enough. Let me know if any other details are needed.

Thanks.
-N

Maybe a one way ANOVA with four groups: z at front, q at front, x species behind z, and x species behind q?

or with three groups: front, x species behind z, and x species behind q?

Ok this chapter is divided in two parts