Is my study case-control or retrospective cohort?

Hi

AFAIK if we split the sample by the exposure, it is retrospective cohort; and if we split it by the disease, it is case control.

I am studying the association between malocclusion and the efficacy of mastication. I have divided the sample into two groups: people with and without malocclusion; I wanna check whether those with malocclusion have poorer mastication efficacy.

I think malocclusion is the exposure here, and then my study is retrospective cohort. However, my statistician says it is a case control, because we are dividing the sample according to the disease.

My main problem is that both the "malocclusion" and "mastication efficacy" are some kinds of diseases, although the mastication efficacy cannot be the cause of the malocclusion, but the malocclusion can be the cause of the other variable.

So I still think although the malocclusion variable itself is a disease, it is the exposure here and hence, my study is cohort.

Can somebody say am I right?

Link

Ninja say what!?!
Hi

AFAIK if we split the sample by the exposure, it is retrospective cohort; and if we split it by the disease, it is case control.
It is more than just that. If you have a cohort that you are following, then it's a cohort. You can split it by exposure once you know it's a cohort. If you are following it forward in time, then it's prospective. Otherwise, it's retrospective.

If you only have a whole bunch of cases of diseases and you're trying to match the same amount of controls, then it's case control. Here, you're still splitting them by exposure. The difference is that you have a set of cases first and you try to match controls after.

It looks like you have a group of people who were collected from the same place. All you're doing is dividing them by whether they were exposed or not and seeing what the disease rate is in each group. If this is the case, then I would say also that it is a retrospective cohort.